Hawks Shine in District Team Victory

Yesterday (Monday 20th May 2019) five of our Hawks Under 11s formed part of the Hyndburn District side that took on Wyre District at Rishton Cricket Club. 

Our representatives were: William Armer, Jacob Houldsworth, Aniq Hussain, Sam Newton and William Thomson.

Hyndburn batted first and scored 197-5 from our allotted 35 overs.

William Thomson top scored with an impressive 76* including eleven 4s, and Aniq also contributed significantly with 31*. Together, and with a decent helping of extras, they put on an unbroken 140 for the 6th wicket, having come together with the side in trouble at 57-5. 

In response, Wyre could only score 98-9. Sam (7-2-9-2), Jacob (4-0-8-2) and William Armer (6-2-5-1) all making important contributions, before Rishton’s Evan Dobson took a hat-trick with the last three balls of the game. 

A great win. We’ll look to keep you updated on further progress. 

Ten of our Hawks receive District Call

We are delighted to report that ten of our Hawks junior cricketers have been selected to represent the Hyndburn District representative sides for 2019.
The selections relate to the under 13 and under 15 age groups and are as follows: –
Nihaal Basharat
Lewis Elliott
Matt Litherland
Kassim Masood
Ismheel Shakeel
Sean Dignan
Ethan Houldsworth
Haris Iqbal
Alex Kennedy
Thomas Newton
Congratulations to all selected; we’ll keep you posted here as to how they get on.